Decaf?!?

Pico de OrizabaIt has been so amazing learning the Roasting process over the past few years and have admittedly been psyching myself up to dive into the Decaf world! For years I have been curious to the reasoning behind drinking decaffeinated coffee. Why not just cut out caffeine…I spent 6 years of my life coffee free. So glad I got over that! The entire time I was coffee free I never even considered drinking decaffeinated coffee…chemical processes and bad flavor…. or so I thought! Yes, a large amount of commercially roasted coffee is chemically stripped of its caffeine but there are two natural water processes that are amazing!!

I am currently working with a Mountain Water processed coffee that is certified organic from Mexico. The water used is from the glaciers on the north and northwestern sides of Pico de Orizaba.  In the decaffeination process, the green coffee beans are immersed in water in order to extract the caffeine. The water contains the soluble components of the coffee beans which holds the elements of the flavor, so that, during the extraction of the caffeine the beans maintain their original components. To separate the caffeine from the water containing the soluble components, the water passes through a special filter which removes the caffeine. This results in “coffee solid solubles charged water” saturated with the flavor components but free of caffeine, which is used again in the extraction process.

I am quickly changing my tune in regards to my new friend Decaf. I am shocked at the quality of green product available and am having a blast trying to find the sweet spots to pass on to our decaf lovers at High Point !!

Leave a Reply

